AsiaFinest Forum
Ad: 123Designing.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Why can't I download MSN??
YoungOne
post May 5 2006, 01:58 PM
Post #1


AF Elite
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 8,140
Joined: 3-March 05
From: Unknown




I've been trying to download MEssenger version 7.5 and MSN Beta on this computer, but they don't download. I always get an error, like 1603. I've got plenty of space on my computer, but it doesn't work. I am using the admin account.


Here's the one I get for Live Beta:
IPB Image

Here's teh one I get for 7.5:
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tchan_4
post May 6 2006, 05:35 PM
Post #2


AF Pro
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2,544
Joined: 7-January 06
From: UK / Stephy




shouldnt it be C:\Program Files
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
YoungOne
post May 8 2006, 02:39 PM
Post #3


AF Elite
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 8,140
Joined: 3-March 05
From: Unknown




QUOTE(tchan_4 @ May 7 2006, 12:35 AM) [snapback]1825891[/snapback]

shouldnt it be C:\Program Files


Yeah but the computer is in Norwegian, so it's called C:\Programfiler


It doesn't really let me chose what directory I want to save messenger. When I go to the C:\Programfiler\MSN Messenger folder, the files that the error mentions aren't even there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VietSk8rGUI
post May 8 2006, 03:18 PM
Post #4


AF Supreme
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 12,919
Joined: 24-April 05
From: TEAM RAMROD




are you like on a computer wit multiple accounts on it/ and your dad is the main user?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
YoungOne
post May 9 2006, 06:04 AM
Post #5


AF Elite
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 8,140
Joined: 3-March 05
From: Unknown




QUOTE(VietSk8rGUI @ May 8 2006, 10:18 PM) [snapback]1831636[/snapback]

are you like on a computer wit multiple accounts on it/ and your dad is the main user?


Naw my dad just bought me a new laptop that I could use for stuff. So there really is only one account, the admin account, the one that I'm logged on to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tchan_4
post May 9 2006, 10:43 AM
Post #6


AF Pro
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2,544
Joined: 7-January 06
From: UK / Stephy




try this

Start menu ----> RUN -----> type in

CODE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RTCRES.dll

show a screenshot of wot you see.....

try this also!

Start Menu ----> RUN ----> then type in

CODE
regsvr32 RTCRES.dll



also... do you have admin privilages?

This post has been edited by tchan_4: May 9 2006, 10:45 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ham_let
post May 9 2006, 03:08 PM
Post #7


AF Legend
Group Icon

Group: AF Forum Police
Posts: 25,372
Joined: 6-August 04
From: A Suburban Wasteland




another question, i've had msn 6.2 for a long time but now it's forcing me to d/l 7.5

so i d/led 7.5 yesterday, it was working fine, but when iturned on my computer today it went back to 6.2 anyone know what's going on? embarassedlaugh.gif it's forcing me to d/l 7.5 again.. annoying.

the properties of the program say version 7.5 but when i click it, it shows up as 6.2 icon_confused.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tchan_4
post May 9 2006, 03:44 PM
Post #8


AF Pro
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2,544
Joined: 7-January 06
From: UK / Stephy




QUOTE(ham_let @ May 9 2006, 10:08 PM) [snapback]1835066[/snapback]

another question, i've had msn 6.2 for a long time but now it's forcing me to d/l 7.5

so i d/led 7.5 yesterday, it was working fine, but when iturned on my computer today it went back to 6.2 anyone know what's going on? embarassedlaugh.gif it's forcing me to d/l 7.5 again.. annoying.

the properties of the program say version 7.5 but when i click it, it shows up as 6.2 icon_confused.gif


get 7.0 on my XP pc im still on 7.0

7.5 is Talktohand.gif wait till wlm8.0 comes out
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ham_let
post May 9 2006, 04:03 PM
Post #9


AF Legend
Group Icon

Group: AF Forum Police
Posts: 25,372
Joined: 6-August 04
From: A Suburban Wasteland




alright thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cabbit
post May 9 2006, 08:32 PM
Post #10


AF Pro
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1,206
Joined: 13-December 04
From: far away




You know, you could always try an alternative program.

I use Trillian (one program that handles AIM/ICQ/Yahoo/MSN/IRC).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chimpyd
post May 9 2006, 08:54 PM
Post #11


AF Geek
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 19-February 06




Or, you could also try aMSN (Open-Source)

This post has been edited by chimpyd: May 9 2006, 08:54 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tchan_4
post May 10 2006, 03:49 AM
Post #12


AF Pro
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2,544
Joined: 7-January 06
From: UK / Stephy




dont try web based messengers or msn plug-ins

they say they dont log passwords but Talktohand.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
YoungOne
post May 10 2006, 05:22 AM
Post #13


AF Elite
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 8,140
Joined: 3-March 05
From: Unknown




QUOTE(tchan_4 @ May 9 2006, 05:43 PM) [snapback]1834340[/snapback]

try this

Start menu ----> RUN -----> type in

CODE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RTCRES.dll

show a screenshot of wot you see.....

try this also!

Start Menu ----> RUN ----> then type in

CODE
regsvr32 RTCRES.dll

also... do you have admin privilages?


On the first one it can't find the file RTCRES.dll I tried to look around in the System32 folder, but I didn't find that.

On the second one it just says "Failed - Couldn't find the module"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
YoungOne
post May 10 2006, 04:02 PM
Post #14


AF Elite
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 8,140
Joined: 3-March 05
From: Unknown




QUOTE(Tissue Box @ May 10 2006, 12:56 PM) [snapback]1837282[/snapback]

did u try what i did .. ??

control panel > add/remove programs > uninstall the old msn from the list and then once that's done, try to download and install the newer version of msn again and see if that works ..


This computer is brand new so it has no earlier version of MSN installed
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 03:27 AM