Reply to this topicStart new topic
How hard is it to make it to the NBA?
nicesinging1
post May 27 2006, 10:56 PM
Post #1

AF Geek
Group Icon

Group: Members

Hi, everyone. As NBA draft is within a month away, I have always wanted to know how hard it is to make it to the NBA. Although I am no NBA expert, I am pretty certain that it is extremely hard to make it to the NBA. Heck, I often see players who were drafted in 2nd round don't survive in NBA. In some cases, players drafted in 1st round, too.
When I see players like Trajan Langdon who starred at Duke, Mateen Cleaves who led Mich. State to Final Four, Ed Cota who was a fantastic PG for UNC, get burned in NBA and are forced to play in Europe instead, it makes me wonder how competitive NBA is. Charles Barkley once said "People underestimate how good NBA players are. Even bad players in NBA are really good players."
Last year, my university produced Conference Player of the Year. Although my school is in low conference, we were all excited and thought he would be drafted. Turns out, he wasn't even drafted in 2nd round. So here are my questions for u guys. 1. How hard is it exactly to make it to the NBA? If you can, can u give me an example? 2. What kind of things do NBA scouts value more in players? Fundamentals or athleticism? Thanks in advance for any insights.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
SevenEighthsAsia...
post May 27 2006, 11:03 PM
Post #2

AF Elite
Group Icon

It's pretty hard. The $hit guys in the NBA would probably dominate overseas.

+Quote Post
CircleK
post May 27 2006, 11:28 PM
Post #3

AF Fan
Group Icon

QUOTE(SevenEighthsAsian @ May 27 2006, 11:03 PM) [snapback]1891680[/snapback]

It's pretty hard. The $hit guys in the NBA would probably dominate overseas.

Maybe in the past, but it's become more of an international sport. Do remember who didn't win the gold or the silver?

+Quote Post
ham_let
post May 27 2006, 11:33 PM
Post #4

AF Legend
Group Icon

Group: AF Forum Police